Manawatu College - Haere I Tou Kaha - Personal Best


Manawatu Inter-Secondary Schools Cross Country Competition

On a wet Wednesday afternoon, Manawatu College hosted the annual Manawatu Inter-Secondary Schools Cross Country competition on our Cross Country Track.

Manawatu College had five students qualify for our College team from their times in our Inter-House Cross Country competition held on Friday 12 May. 

Senior Boys

Victor Vaunoius

Lance Laurente

Senior Girls

Samantha Hansen

Chelsea Parlato

Junior Girls

Aymee Blight

Shelby Wells

Charlotte Blight


Congratulations to all of the runners, especially the students who represented our College!
Samantha Hansen came 7th and Chelsea Parlato came 20th in the Senior Girls race.
Victor Vaunois came 23rd in the Senior Boys race.
Shelby Wells came 19th, Aymee Blight came 27th and Charlotte Blight came 40th in the Junior Girls race.
Well done!

Robertson House wins the Inter-House Athletics Sports!


Day one of the annual Inter-House competition was held on Tuesday 21st February on what felt like the first real day of summer for 2017!

Students donning their respective House colours and plenty of sunblock were eager for the day to begin at 9:05. This year they rotated around the events in their age groups. Juniors (aged under 14 at 1st January 2017), Intermediate (aged under 16 at 1st January 2017) and Seniors (aged 16+ at 1st January 2017).

Students were required to enter a minimum of 5 events in total of their choice and a maximum of 7.  

Day one saw some fierce competition in the track events but no records were broken.  There were some close calls in the field, particularly with the discus and triple jump but all records remained unbroken this year also.  

Day two was the 'fun events' -  the House relays, the shuttle race and the tug-o-war competition.  The House shuttle race was won convincingly by Robertson House, as were many of the House Relays as well as the all in House relay.  Field House took out the girls tug-o-war competition and Morris House took out the boys tug-o-war competition.  

Overall, Robertson House won Athletics, Morris House came second with Field House and Allen House third and fourth respectively.  


Official Track and Field Champions 2017


Junior Girls

Track Champion  Amy Blight

Field Champion  Erina Te Kira-Hubbard

Overall Champion  Shelby Wells


Junior Boys

Track Champion Qynn Smith

Field Champion Qynn Smith

Overall Champion Qynn Smith


Intermediate Girls

Track Champion  Mikaela Cockburn

Field Champion  Tayla Kuiti

Overall Champion  Harmony Syme


Intermediate Boys

Track Champion  Adam Scott

Field Champion  Shay Syme

Overall Champion  Caleb O'Reilly


Senior Girls

Track Champion  Sam Hansen

Field Champion  Natalie MacDonald

Overall Champion  Sam Hansen


Senior Boys

Track Champion  Mani Miller

Field Champion  Jack Penman

Overall Champion  Jack Penman


 Robertson House win the Inter-House Cross Country Competition!

The annual Competition took place on Friday 12 May following some dismal weather, meaning that the track lived up to the name 'Cross Country'.  

The event had to run on the designated day as the national Inter-Secondary Cross Country Competition is to be held on Wednesday 17 May and students needed their official times before this. The rain cleared but the ground hadn't quite dried up,  so it was a muddy affair.  

The event kicked off with the Senior Boys at 1.15 pm, followed by the Intermediate Boys, Senior Girls, Intermediate Girls, Junior Boys then Junior Girls. 

Congratulations to all those who contributed to a successful afternoon.

Robertson House were first, with 466 points, Allen second (371), Field third (301) and Morris on 275.

The top three for each category are as follows:


Senior Boys

1st Victor Vaunois - Morris - 25.53

2nd Tyrone Collins - Robertson 

3rd Harry Mehana - Allen

Senior Girls

1st Samantha Hansen - Morris - 21.53

2nd Chelsea Parlato - Allen

3rd Myellah Harvey - Robertson


Intermediate Girls
1st Saryah Chambers - Robertson - 22.40
2nd Bayley Stella - Robertson
3rd Riana Pakeho - Morris



Intermediate Boys
1st Caleb O'Reilly - Morris - 22.06
2nd Kelsyn MacDonald - Field
3rd Jay Jay Hailwood - Robertson



Junior Girls
1st Aimee Blight - Field -21.21
2nd Shelby Wells - Robertson
3rd Charlotte Blight - Robertson



Junior Boys
1st Qynn Smith - Field - 20.03
2nd Caleb MacMillian - Allen
3rd Trevor Chambers - Robertson


To see how this changes the overall points, check out the Inter-House Competition Leaderboard